Awards & Benevolence

Every year the Society presents four awards. The Knox Trophy was established in 1910 and is the oldest award given to a West Point cadet.   The Gustavus Conyngham Award is given to a U.S. Merchant Marine Academy midshipman with the best overall performance at sea who intends to sail after graduation. The Fraunces Tavern Museum Book Award has been annually presented since 1972 to the author of the best, newly published work on the American Revolutionary, combining original scholarship, insight and good writing. We also host an essay contest on Flag Day for elementary students on the topic, “What the American Flag Means to Me.” The winner receives a cash prize and a plaque. The final award was first given in 1961 at the 84th annual George Washington Birthday Ball; the Distinguished Patriot award has historical been given to an American who has made an outstanding contribution to his or her field of endeavor and who personifies the principles upon which this country was founded. In recent years the Distinguished Patriot award has been given to an individual who has made great efforts in the area of historic preservation and the public education of Colonial America, the American Revolutionary War and the Early Republic.

Check out recipients of some these awards over the years.

Knox Trophy

The Distinguished Patriot Award

Fraunces Tavern Museum Book Award Winner List